[Feature] Mask and style messages that are categorized as spoilers, NSFW content, emotes, etc

@Alice, thanks for inspiring me to suggest a feature! I don’t know if this one exists anywhere else.

Idea name: Let users selectively reveal, always show, always hide, or stylize individual messages based on an optional category specified by the message author.

Description: Message authors may not be sure that everyone will want to read their message immediately, or even at all. This could apply to specific types of humor, content that reveals secrets about movies and other mainstream media (spoilers), content that could be considered to be adult/provocative (NSFW: “not safe for work”), stylized text expressing an action, and more.

Use case: As a message author, I want the option to categorize individual messages for other users to selectively reveal based on their category and context. As a message recipient, I want the option to selectively reveal messages by clicking/tapping them… plus the option to choose message categories that I never want to see.

Target user: Any user wanting to share content that others may not want to view immediately (nudity, spoilers, etc.) or might never want to see, plus any user wanting to use Status without concern for nearby people viewing their screen.

Why this is important: This potentially allows Status to be more user-friendly, as it provides an extra layer of customizability for users who may be using the app in professional environments.

Any other comments:

While this could potentially sound complex, I believe that it can just be implemented on the delivery side as additional metadata that is optionally appended to any message content. On the client side, the client would check for the metadata before rendering the message, and show/mask/hide as per client settings.