Improving / updating our READMEs

I spent some time recently reading through all our READMEs and also reviewing how a bunch of other organisations structure theirs.

With aims of helping people understand:

1. who we are,
  2. what we’re doing,
  3. how they can get involved,

I drafted a proposed new README here: GitHub - jonathanbarker/templates-

This would fit nicely with the work @jonathan is leading on the website refresh - focusing on clear and easy channels to contribute to Status.

Since I’m not an expert in this area - would welcome feedback from others if you have suggestions. cc @cryptowanderer @Hutch @PascalPrecht @oskarth since we’ve chatted about related topics recently.

2 Likes

Hi @j12b!

This is super nice, thanks for putting this template together. So in general I think it’s also important to keep in mind what the Readme file is originally for (not saying it can’t be used in different ways).

Usually a readme is a file that, well, authors of a software want users to read. Most of the time this includes information about how to install the thing, or even a few gotchas to keep in mind that people could run into.

However, with GitHub and the ability to read readmes right in the browser, this has changed a little and people tend to use it more and more as a “presentation” kind of file, to let people know what the project is about, how to install and use it and where to find help.

So with that in mind, I believe your templates are pretty much spot on.

There’s one case, however where I think it’d be beneficial to keep the readme short and concise. That is, when the project has a complete documentation on various topics a reader might be interested in (what, why and how / installation / usage etc). If there’s good documentation in place, it’s probably better to drive people towards that and have them actually spend less time with the readme.