Is there anyone who can help build the Android applicaiton using Kotlin?

Hello. I’m Heesung Bae, a mobile front-end engineer from South Korea.

I’m interested in state-of-the-art software development trends(especially on Android), software architecture, and test-driven development.

In addition to the general software development, I am also into the blockchain technology itself, so I completed the “2018 Blockchain Developer Online Bootcamp” course certified by Consensys in 2018.

Status is one of the projects that I really love. In particular, I was very impressed when the team decided to switch over from Slack to Status for internal communications during the last Devcon.

I participated in the Status Korean meetup last week and heard the team is struggling on some problems with the 64 bit issue for Android. I’d like to contribute to Status by developing the Status Android application using Kotlin.

This is my first time contributing to an open source project, so I need some help generally. Are there any resources on this or is there anyone who is hopefully willing to do this with me?

3 Likes

Hey Heesung!

The person currently focused on solving the 64bit build issue is @pedro, he would know the most about it and could point you in the right direction. You can see the progress here:

4 Likes

Hey @hezo25, great to see your interest in the project. Have you tried following the development environment setup documentation in https://status.im/build_status/? The setup should be painless and not interfere with your machine setup, although you do need a good internet connection to download all dependencies (not that I expect that be an issue in South Korea :slight_smile:) .